LIBRARY ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES Weinberg Memorial Library Monday, February 16, 2024

'Farry, 'Ms.'

Sharon^{*}

Finnerty, Dr. Chris Gillett, Dr. Jennifer Kaschak, Prof. Michael Knies, Associate Dean Jean Lenville, Dr. Wendy Mannetti, Prof. Bonnie Markowski, Dr. Robert McCloskey, Prof. Ian O'Hara, Prof. Sylvia Orner, Dr. Kimberly Pavlick, Prof. Sheli Pratt McHugh, Dr. Jong Hyun Son, Dr. Ben Willis, and Prof. Elin Woods.

Unable to Attend: Dr. Lori Bruch, Dr. Tracey Collins, Dr. Roxana Curiel, Dr. Michael Fennie, Dr. Terri Freeman Smith, Dr. Christopher Fremaux, Dr. JoyAnna Hopper, Dr. Jakub Jasinski, Dr. Michael Landrum, Dr. Nathan Lefler, Dr. Yibai Li, Dr. William Miller, Prof. Linda Mlodzienski, Dr. Masood Otarod, Dr. Christos Pargianas, Atty. Jason Shrive, Dr. Argyrios Varonides, Prof. Donna Witek, and Dr. John Zych.

Dr. Pavlick motioned to approve the minutes, seconded by Dr. Kaschak. The minutes were accepted as written.

Agenda revised. No motion to approve the revised agenda.

<u>DEAN'S REPORT – Dean George Aulisio</u>

1. Bylaws Subcommittee

Dean Aulisio and the committee recently met to discuss comments and suggestions that arose at the last Advisory meeting. The process of electing a chair and quorum numbers were discussed.

ui.

The Chair will be a full time faculty member from outside the library elected by a majority vote to serve a two year term. The call for nominations will be sent to all eligible Library Advisory Committee members two weeks before the last meeting of the Spring semester in the final year of the Chair's term. An electronic vote will be held within one

Prof. Pratt McHugh motioned that when a vote is taken it should be ½ of the voting membership plus 1 for the definition of a quorum. Dr. Kaschak seconded. Motion passes. Dr. McCloskey then added an amendment to the motion that a quorum be defined as more than half. Prof. Pratt McHugh seconded. A vote will be moved to electronic voting if a quorum is not met.

It was felt that the chair of the Advisory

The library co hosted the Black

The judging will take place the week of May 7, 2024 (Study week / last week of classes.) A signup sheet was passed around.

.

This year's Awards Ceremony and Reception for the Prize will be Friday, May 17, 2024, at 1:00 pm in the Library's 5th floor Charles Kratz Scranton Heritage Room (which is also a new date and time — this is the Friday of the final exam week.)

Questions about either update can be sent to Donna Witek, Information Literacy Coordinator — donna.witek@scranton.edu.

.

2. Environmental Art Show (Prof. Cloutier)

The show will be exhibited April 15 24, 2024. It is in digital format as well as a physical event. The deadline is 3/28 for submissions and the theme is creating connections. Flyers were distributed. Email marleen.cloutier@scranton.edu with any questions.

.

3. DEIA Audit Site Visit (Prof. O'Hara)

Mr. Mark Puente, Associate Dean for Organizational Development,

Prof. Farry demonstrated how to locate archival information. She also showed colorized versions of photographs.

Digital Services is working on a new exhibit featuring campus changes over time with an approximate mid March launch date.

7. Scranton Stories Exhibit (Prof. Knies)

This is an exhibit consisting of portraits of Scrantonians made possible the NEH grant for Scranton Stories. There will be meet and greet with the Scranton Stories team and some of the interviewees on April 4, 2024.

8. Focus Groups (Prof. Woods)

We are recruiting students from February 26 until March 8, 2024. The groups will commence in early April. Prof. Woods is working with Prof. Geri Barber and her graduate students. They also want to work with OSSS and Thrive for 1st years. The focus groups will be held in the Counseling Center.

NEW BUSINESS (AII)

No motion to adjourn was made.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by Kym Balthazar Fetsko